2 votes

Between the Lines (1992)

Between the Lines was a television police drama series created by J. C. Wilsher and produced by World Productions for the BBC. It was first shown on BBC1 between 1992 and 1994, running for three series. The show centred on the eventful life of Detective Superintendent Tony Clark, played by Neil Pearson. Clark was an ambitious member of the Complaints Investigation Bureau, an internal organisation that investigates claims of corruption inside the police in England and Wales. Along the way Clark had to overcome strong influence from his superiors and problems in his private life, most notably the break-up of his marriage following an affair with WPC Jenny Dean. Throughout the series Clark was assisted by sidekicks Harry Naylor and Mo Connell. Clark's work as a lead officer in CIB was the focus of the first two series. In the first series his boss was Deakin, a tough Irish policeman. At the end of the first series Deakin was revealed to be a corrupt officer himself. He left the force but remained a recurring character working freelance for the security services and others, sometimes in conflict with Clark and sometimes assisting him. At the start of the third series Clark, Naylor and Connell leave the police force and work in the murky world of private security, far right politics and espionage. The third series ends with the betrayal of Clark and Naylor who had been masquerading as mercenaries. The betrayal is made by Connell in league with Deakin, their former boss and nemesis. It is unclear whether Clark and Naylor have died as the show ended on a cliffhanger. Rumours of a remake did circulate for some years, but Pearson confirmed in 'Watching the Detectives' that he had wanted a 'final' ending at the time and would never return to the role.

Original Title: Between the Lines

Времена года: 1 2 3
  • Год: 1992
  • Страна:
  • Language: En

Mark Strong


Daniel Craig


Jerome Flynn

Detective Sergeant Eddie Hargreaves

Nigel Lindsay

Insp. Alan Grant

Larry Lamb


Daniel Ryan


Neil Stuke


Sean Gilder


Ben Chaplin


John Shrapnel

Deputy Assistant Commissioner Dunning

Neil Dudgeon


Hugh Ross

Commander Graham Sullivan

David Lyons

Commander Brian Huxtable

Bernard Hill


Siobhan Redmond

Det. Sgt. Maureen Connell

Tom Georgeson

Det. Insp. Harry Naylor

Neil Pearson

Det. Supt. Tony Clark

Tony Doyle

Chief Supt. John Deakin

Dorian Healy

P.C. Geoff Richards

David Calder


Keith Allen


John Hannah


Ray Winstone


Mark Addy


Colin Salmon


Lee Ross


Roger Allam


Marc Warren


Paul Freeman

Написать один

Sorry, no results found.